Wk 11 – Artist Conversation – Caryn Aasness

Exhibition Information

Artist: Caryn Aasness
Exhibition: Untitled
Media: Fiber, Mixed Media
Gallery: CSULB School of Art
Website: N/A
Instagram: levelyellowproblemchild

About the Artist

This week, I got to attend the exhibit of Caryn Aasness. She is currently attending her last year of her undergraduate studies who is working towards a BFA in Fiber. She told people how to decipher her piece cards and elaborated on the messages that she was trying to convey through her pieces.

Formal Analysis

There are nine fiber pieces, each coming with the title card and a code for viewers to decipher, and the artist statement.

The first piece is Aasness’ Artist Statement. It is created in a “choose your own adventure” format regarding weaving, color, and language.
The second piece is a fiber piece with very autumn-like color schematics.
The third piece is titled Bonham, Jones, Page.
> “In the days of my youth I was told what it means to be a man”
The fourth piece is Triptych. It is a “set” of three small pieces.
> “Takes one to know one / I’m rubber you’re glue / I know you are but what am I”
The fifth piece is Palahniuk. It is a longer piece.
> “Nothing of me is original I am the combined effort of everyone I have ever known”
The sixth piece is a blank piece that reads “To call it cute is to mis[-]understand.”
The seventh piece is Punctuation’s Not Dead. It is a smaller piece.
> “Exclamation point question mark”
The eighth piece is Instructions for Living (Fruitfully). This is a longer piece.
> “First comes love then comes marriage then comes the baby in the baby carriage”
The ninth piece is Diptych. It is a set of two small pieces.
> “Speak up / Keep it down”
The tenth piece is Tividad Tucker.
> “Im still looking for sureness in the way I say my name”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Content Analysis

A lot of Aasness’ art is created to allow people to question or challenege the modern American society. She enjoys challenging people to look and decipher her artwork. Instead of people usually just glancing at an art piece without much thought, her artwork creates opportunities for viewers to ponder and dares them, in a sense, to think.

Synthesis / My Experience

The artist statement took more effort to figure out than the title cards, in my opinion… (AKA I’m very, very happy (almost to the point of cockiness) that I was able to decipher her messages nearly instantaneously without any help nor explanation //cue “wow ur so cool” msgs//)  That aside, when I walked in the “to call it cute is a misunderstanding” piece just popped out and piqued my interest in the exhibit.
“What isn’t cute? What’s cute? Why is it insulting?” were some of the questions that popped up in regard to the piece.
As I was going through the pieces, I just scrolled through them without taking enough (?) time to actually take in the fiber pieces. (I love puzzles and anything related.)
I was lowkey bummed that there were so little but overall, it was an exhibit I very, very much enjoyed.

Leave a Reply

