Wk 6 – o, da pressures of fame

ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh (what is that cover photo quality wtf)

I actually had no idea what I wanted to do. I looked through my phone gallery & my sketchbook, hoping for ideas to pop up.

They didn’t.

I just thought, “let’s just draw old oc (original characters) and see how that goes.” So, I opened up sticky notes on my computer and made a list of all the ones I wanted to draw.

(PLS EXCUSE ANY LAME NAMES & STUFF)

This child is Ryuhan Jang. I think I made this child last year(?) when I was trying to draw fanart but it turned out bad and turned into him. LOL (omg he was an accidental baby) Brian chose purple to be the background, so I painted that and double traced the boy with a 08 Sakura pigma graphic pen (i got a pack as a christmas present & it’s saved my life so many times).

This applies to this one and the other drawings too, but all of them looked so plain by itself so I did what I thought would look nice, while trying to keep some variety with them. If any of them look meh or similar to another, then I’m sorry. I tried. It bothers me more than it bothers you, LOL.

This one is … Kyuri? A boy. (bae thought it was a girl and kept referring to him and “her/she” but i didn’t want to correct him because reasons) ((All of  these drawings are redrawings of older ones (comparisons are on my twitter), so it was fun to do this project & see how much my drawing style’s changed + improved.)) For this one, I wanted to put emphasis to the middle of the drawing, aka the dress/top that he’s wearing. Since I wanted it to pop out, I chose red. Initially, I chose the wrong shade (darn you, orange-red) and was pretty sad because it came out super orange. But luckily, I was able to paint over it with regular red and [sort of] fix it.

This child was actually my favorite OC for a long time, maybe even still. Anyways, he’s Jack Twining (my naming skills are OP, ok). I didn’t have space to draw his scythe, but oh well. That’s besides the point. I guess the way I did this one is the same as Kyuri’s: emphasis on the clothing & accessory.

Ah, Agnus Tiel. Or Haruko. I couldn’t decide which name to go with. If anything, he’s supposed to be an angel/reaper-style character. (A LOT OF MY CHARACTERS ARE TRAPS, I HAVE COME TO REALIZE.. and lgbt…. sigh, my dad would destroy me if he ever found out) I loosely based this outfit off of the sun god[dess?] Amaterasu (in response to Tsuki’s Tsukuyomi outfit). ANYWAYS, I wanted to keep this one simple, mainly because I had no idea what colors to use for outfits/background. So, I colored his skin.

bb what was ur name Elroux Jang. Ryuhan’s older sister. Yeah, she’s a tiny little loli. Her dress was actually inspired (?) by a character from the Kuroshitsuji manga. I didn’t want to ruin the dress or anything, so I chose to paint her hair and trace everything else. I don’t think her hair was originally blonde, but for the pop, I went with a yellow.

I take it back, this child is my current favorite. K, or Tsukiko. I drew this version of him for Lunar New Year and attempted to base him off of the Lunar God[dess?] Tsukuyomi. I’m not sure if I can put background information here because I might go on forever, but he’s connected to Jack & Agnus. Ah, unlike Agnus, whose skin and accessories were painted, I colored Tsuki’s dress. They’re kind of like inverse(?) characters of each other. I LIKE DRAWING PRETTY CHILDREN AHHH

omg, her section got deleted somehow…  This is the celestial demi-god, Haverj Zakaryan. In the original drawing, I actually didn’t know how to finish her outfit so I left her uncompleted. But for this assignment, I tried my best. I painted her cape in a galaxy-esque way. I wish that it came out more bold or bright, but it is what it is. She was actually one of my favorite character designs when I initially created her, so it was no question that I would include her. :>

This one actually isn’t an OC. This would probably categorize as a fanart of a League of Legends character, Kindred (which consists of Lamb & Wolf). I drew this earlier in the year and wanted to redraw it because I wanted to see an updated version of her LOL. These two are literal “black & white” or “yin-yang” characters. I wanted emphasis on Wolf because the idea just popped up into my head while I was thinking of what to draw.



I think that this was a fun project, but definitely one that took the most effort (outside of the Wk 2 project). I feel like I could’ve done better but IT IS WHAT IT IS AND IM STILL HAPPY AT HOW IT CAME OUT HEH

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Glenn Zucman says:

    beautiful work Lydia! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lyds chang says:

      Thank you, thank you! I did my best; I wish I could’ve added more to it but artist’s block is a pain to deal with on a time crunch 😦

      Like

      1. Glenn Zucman says:

        IKR! Artists shouldn’t have deadlines! They should be free to create when the muse is present! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. lyds chang says:

    is that sarcasm i hear again? LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

